NYFF Main Slate 2022 Lineup Revealed

Jafar Panahi, Paul Schrader, Claire Denis, Hong Sangsoo, Mia Hansen-Løve and more are all on the main roster for this year’s New York Film Festival.

This year’s Main Slate at the 60th New York Film Festival is packed with can’t-miss auteur titles from festivals around the world. Presented by Film at Lincoln Center, the festival runs from September 30 through October 16 at Lincoln Center and venues across the city.

“If there’s one takeaway from this year’s Main Slate, it’s cinema’s limitless capacity for renewal,” said New York Film Festival Artistic Director Dennis Lim. “Collectively, the films on the program suggest that this revival takes many forms: stunning debuts, veterans pulling off new tricks, filmmakers of all persuasions seeking new and surprising forms of expression and representation. We love the range and eclecticism of this group of films and are excited to share it with audiences.

This year’s Main Slate showcases films produced in 18 different countries, with new titles from big-name authors, outstanding works from directors returning to the NYFF as well as those making their NYFF debuts, and famous films from festivals from around the world, including Cannes winners: Claire Denis’ “Stars at Noon”; Park Chan-wook’s “Decision to Leave”; Ruben Östlund’s Palme d’Or winner “Triangle of Sadness”; and Charlotte Wells’ feature debut, “Aftersun”, one of Cannes Critics’ Week favorites “Alcarràs” by Carla Simón received the Golden Bear at the 72nd Berlin Film Festival, and “All that Breathes by Shaunak Sen won the Grand Jury Prize in the World Cinema Documentary Competition at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and the Golden Eye for Best Documentary at Cannes.

Margaret Brown, Davy Chou (New Directors/New Films 2017), Laura Citarella (ND/NF 2015), Alice Diop (ND/NF 2021 and Art of the Real 2022), Mark Jenkin (ND/NF 2019), Marie Kreutzer, Ryuji Otsuka and Huang Ji, and Cyril Schäublin (ND/NF 2015). Hong Sangsoo Scores 18th and 19th Film Festival Selections with “The Novelist’s Film” and “Walk Up”; Other returning NYFF filmmakers include Todd Field (with his first film since “Little Children” in 2006), Mia Hansen-Løve, Joanna Hogg, Pietro Marcello, Cristian Mungiu, Jafar Panahi (the incarcerated Iranian filmmaker’s latest film, “No Bears”, plays festival), Véréna Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Kelly Reichardt, Paul Schrader, Albert Serra, Jerzy Skolimowski and Frederick Wiseman.

As previously announced, the opening night selection is Noah Baumbach’s “White Noise”; Laura Poitras’ documentary “All Beauty and Bloodshed” is the centerpiece; and, marking its first appearance at the festival, Elegance Bratton’s debut tale ‘The Inspection’ will close the festival. James Gray’s “Armageddon Time” will be the NYFF’s 60th anniversary screening event, celebrating New York City and the New York Film Festival. Currents, Revivals, Spotlight and Talks sections will be announced in the coming weeks.

See the full main slate below.

Opening night
“White Noise”
Real. Noah Baumbach

Table’s center
“All Beauty and Bloodshed”
Real. Laura Poitras

Closing party
“The Inspection”
Real. Bratton Elegance

NYFF 60th Anniversary Celebration
“The Time of Armageddon”
Real. James Gray

“After Sun”
Real. Charlotte Wells

Real. carla simon

“All That Breathes”
Real. Shaunak Sen

Real. Marie Kreutzer

“A couple”
Real. Frederick Wiseman

“De Humani Corporis Fabrica”
Real. Verena Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor

“Departure Decision”
Real. Park Chan-wook

Real. Daisy Brown

“Enys Men”
Real. Marc Jenkins

Real. Jerzy Skolimowski

“The Eternal Girl”
Real. Joanna Hogg

“Master Gardener”
Real. Paul Schrader

“No Bear”
Real. Jafar Panahi

“The novelist’s film”
Real. Hong Sangso

” A nice morning “
Real. Mia Hansen – Love

Real. Albert Serra

Real. Christian Mungiu

“Return to Seoul”
Real. Davy Chou

Real. Alice Diop

Real. Pierre Marcello

“To show up”
Real. Kelly Reichard

“Stars at Noon”
Real. Claire Dennis

” Stone wall “
Real. Huang Ji and Ryuji Otsuka

Real. Todd Field

“Trunque Lauquen”
Real. Laura Citarelle

“Triangle of Sadness”
Real. Ruben Ostlund

Real. Cyril Schaublin

“To go up”
Real. Hong Sangso

As part of its 60th anniversary celebration, the New York Film Festival will offer festival screenings in all five New York boroughs in partnership with Alamo Drafthouse Cinema (Staten Island), BAM (Brooklyn Academy of Music) (Brooklyn), the Bronx Museum of the Arts (Bronx), Maysles Documentary Center (Harlem) and Museum of the Moving Image (Queens). Each location will present a selection of films throughout the festival; a full list of movies and showtimes will be announced later this month.

Note: Masks are mandatory for all staff, audience and filmmakers at all times in FLC indoor spaces. Proof of full vaccination is not required for NYFF60 audiences in FLC indoor spaces, but full vaccination is strongly recommended.

The NYFF Main Slate selection committee, chaired by Dennis Lim, also includes Eugene Hernandez, Florence Almozini, K. Austin Collins and Rachel Rosen. Regina Riccitelli is the NYFF’s programming coordinator and Violeta Bava, Michelle Carey, Leo Goldsmith and Gina Telaroli are the festival’s advisors. Matt Bolish is the producer of NYFF.

Register: Stay up to date with the latest film and TV news! Sign up for our email newsletters here.

Comments are closed.